This week I’m reading…

After months of reading children’s books I’m finally back onto grown up literature! I worked my way back up, having a splurge of young adult fiction with all of The Hunger Games last week, and am now ready for a spell of adult literature. ‘Adult literature’ is the wrong phrase, it suggests steamy romance novels, but hopefully you know what I mean!

So this week, on the recommendation of my sister, I’ve started reading The Year of the Hare by Finnish writer Arto Paasilinna. I’m only a couple of chapters in but am already of fan of this best-selling book.image

This short novel tells the story of a middle-aged journalist, fed up of his unhappy marriage and dead end job, who after rescuing a wild hare that’s been struck by his car decides to to break free from his life’s constraints. Quitting his job and leaving his wife, he decides to take off into the wilds of Finland with his new-found friend, the rescued hare.

The book has been a best-seller in Finland and France, has been turned into two films and is frequently dramatised for stage. So far I’m enjoying it but I’ll give you my full thoughts about it when I’ve finished it.

Keep reading! x

Leave a Reply

