I have returned!

After nearly a year away from this blog in order to focus on my travel blog, I have finally decided to return. My relationship with writing has been a tricky one since we last spoke and so it’s been difficult for me to decide to come back and commit myself to this blog, but I feel that it is important to keep sharing my experiences.

I have been writing over the last year, but not nearly as much as I intended… not nearly half as much as I intended even. As I mentioned, I was focusing for a while on my travel blog and so did spend a lot of time writing for that, but in terms of creative writing, I had a very low out put. I think the problem is that I got bogged down in one story that I was determined to finish despite having all sorts of other ideas which I felt more drawn to. In the end the piece I was working on became a chore and eventually I stopped writing all together. I have now realised that leaving off one story because I have got more interesting ideas is no bad thing and that perhaps I should do it more. I have in no way decided to scrap the original piece, just to leave it while I explore other avenues for a while, possibly to come back to at a later date.

What I really need to focus on at the moment is improving my writing and developing my own style and so I am going to start to do much more writing practice and short pieces in order to evolve, (recommended activities welcomed!). I shall make the effort to post as much as possible of it on here – as much as my ego will allow at any rate!

It’s great to be back and I’m looking forward to sharing my ideas and experiences with you again!

Mia x

Leave a Reply

