What would Terry do?

pratchett
The fantastical Terry Pratchett

It’s the same old story.

Once again I am struggling to write.

It’s not that I don’t want to, it’s that I just seem to find I can’t get started. I find the blank page rather a daunting thing I think and feel a lot of pressure to fill it with something totally worth while.

This is, of course, completely the wrong attitude to have. I just need to write. Write something. Write ANYTHING. I know that the more I write the more inspiration will find me. Inspiration is zigzagging around all the time looking for a empty vessel to fill and unless I am writing how it is possibly going to find me? And, trust me, my mind is the emptiest of vessels and so the perfect place for lots of great inspirational ideas to pour into!

I have discovered that early on in his writing career, back when he still had to keep down a full time job to pay the bills, Terry Pratchett used to write 400 words a night. 400 words seems so little and yet Pratchett managed to complete whole novels this way; chip chipping away until he finally reached his goals. Previously, I had settled on writing 1000 words a day but, although this felt like a fairly small amount, perhaps I stopped because 1000 a day was too daunting for me and I’d end up feeling like a failure if I didn’t quite manage it.

Well. If 400 words a night is good enough for Pratchett then it is certainly good enough for me. I just need to get writing and keep writing and worry about what exactly was spilled out of my brain to make a mess across the page at a later date.

So this is exactly my new challenge. From now on, at least 5 days a week, I’m going to write 400 words a night. Some of them will be towards a new story and some will be writing exercises but either way they will hopefully get me to a place where I can feel proud of myself for accomplishing something.

I’ll make sure to keep you updated on how this all goes!

Keep writing!

Mia x

Leave a Reply

